Explainer video

Explainer videos are short and snappy videos to promote and explain a product, service or campaign. For the Google Engage project we have to make one as well, explaining our campaigns. What makes for a good explainer video?
According to multiple articles I have read, it’s concise language, scripting and music and sound effects. Taking this in mind, I drafted up some scripts for my explainer video. I have gone through at least 5 different explainer scripts until I decided it was time to try to put it all into action.

Considering my approach to the actual Google Engage video, I wanted to make my explainer carry on similar visuals and style. However, my first go at it was quite horrible and also time consuming – I wrote out words, scanning letter by letter, on sheets of paper and melded that all into one video. It looked bad, but it was a good way to test out the approach.

Later on, I re-watched my actual campaign video and decided to copy the approach quite bluntly. I arranged words on a page once more, using the same hand lettering I used for the campaign video, drew patterns over the background and put it in motion.

Probably the most difficult part of this was to find fitting background music. I had to ask around for websites that provide free tunes (as a student I can’t afford to pay for these things), and was directed to a brilliant website with vast amounts of free tunes – https://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/music.html. This website is incredible, and everything in the royalty-free section is free to download and use as long as you credit the source. A lot of these sounds you might have heard already in short videos that are circulating Facebook, especially the tunes with the ukuleles!

After listening to about a million samples I picked out a couple and put them in my video. I wanted something that’s calm, upbeat and relaxed, but not sad or melodramatic. The first one I tried out was a lute/harp melody, but it didn’t quite fit the bill even if it was very nice to listen to. My final choice was a sort of upbeat, bouncy melody that could be applied to all sorts of different situations, and it fit quite well with my narrative!

Leave a Reply

